Greetings

For our new members to introduce themselves
Fran35
Just Whelped
Tell us about yourself: I have 2 children, 12 and 14. My wife and I have made our children and the outdoors our priority. I work in law enforcement, previously uniformed but now a detective. My wife and I have always had 2 dogs until March when our rescued Pit Bull mix passed. We still have a 10 yr old yellow English Lab and rescued a mix puppy 6 weeks ago-Duke. Embark DNA just told us he is 50% Dutch Shepherd and a the rest is a mix of English Shepherd, German Shepherd, and Cane Corso.

Greetings

Post by Fran35 »

Hi everyone, thanks for letting me join the group. My name is Frank and I have 2 children, 12 and 14. My wife and I have made our children and the outdoors our priority. I work in law enforcement, previously uniformed but now a detective. My wife and I have always had 2 dogs until March when our rescued Pit Bull mix passed. We still have a 10 yr old yellow English Lab and just recently rescued a mixed puppy 6 weeks ago-Duke. Embark DNA just told us he is 50% Dutch Shepherd and a the rest is a mix of English Shepherd, German Shepherd, and Cane Corso.

Duke is 18 weeks now and insanely smart. He has intense reactive fear to any strangers but is a very affectionate and playful puppy with my kids. We are just finishing up his new puppy class And his reactivity is getting better but still has a ways to go. While I am an experienced dog owner, I have never had any Shepherd dog, let alone a DS. ANY advice on how to make him less paranoid of all strangers would be much appreciated.

Attached are a few photos for your attention.
Attachments
IMG_20230921_110124~2.jpg
IMG_20230921_110124~2.jpg (116.9 KiB) Viewed 2568 times
IMG_20230828_163557495_HDR~2.jpg
IMG_20230828_163557495_HDR~2.jpg (1.12 MiB) Viewed 2568 times
IMG_20230928_124751474_BURST000_COVER.jpg
IMG_20230928_124751474_BURST000_COVER.jpg (1.85 MiB) Viewed 2568 times
TimL_168
Working Dog