Hello From Sunny Santa Cruz, CA

For our new members to introduce themselves
Aztechalo
Puppy
Tell us about yourself: I live in North Monterey County, CA with my husband, three step kids, one gorgeous and wonderful Dutch Shepherd and a whole bunch of livestock type animals. The humans are into sustainable farming, the dog is into chasing deer and digging up gophers. My day job is an Operations Supervisor at Santa Cruz Regional 911. One of these days, I'm going to get another DS.

Hello From Sunny Santa Cruz, CA

Post by Aztechalo »

Hello everyone, my name is Marsha and I've been lurking for a while. I've been on a mission to learn more about my Dutchie and ended up here on this board. I'm very impressed with the collective knowledge and am excited to learn some new and interesting tidbits. I have a (roughly) 14 month old female named Chaos and she lives up to her name. I got her when my husband and I signed the papers to buy a 36 acre ranch in desperate need of TLC.

I was looking for a dog that would be good with the step-kids, protect the people and property, livestock and be happy with the active lifestyle that we lead (or used to lead before we started remodeling. Now we just do manual labor all the time.) Years ago, I had met some Dutch Shepherds at a horse breeding facility that we frequented and I loved them. The owners told me a story of how their long hair DS woke them up one night to warn them that a mare was having problems while foaling. That same dog used to run alongside the young stallions in the field and was absolutely joyous. I was hooked, so the second I had a lifestyle that would support that kind of dog, I got one.