Litter Letters

Your home for general discussion. Don't know where to post? Try here first.
Aztechalo
Puppy
Tell us about yourself: I live in North Monterey County, CA with my husband, three step kids, one gorgeous and wonderful Dutch Shepherd and a whole bunch of livestock type animals. The humans are into sustainable farming, the dog is into chasing deer and digging up gophers. My day job is an Operations Supervisor at Santa Cruz Regional 911. One of these days, I'm going to get another DS.

Litter Letters

Post by Aztechalo »

What do the letter designations for puppy litters mean? I breed Dutch horses and the letters correspond with the year for every horse born in a particular year (all horses born in 2010 started with "F") but clearly that's not the case with Dutch dogs. Is it based on the kennel or the bitch?
Marsha and Chaos (4 yo, DS)

In all Chaos there is a cosmos, in all disorder a secret order.
-Carl Jung
vneerland
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Tell us about yourself: *

Re: Litter Letters

Post by vneerland »

Aztechalo wrote:What do the letter designations for puppy litters mean? I breed Dutch horses and the letters correspond with the year for every horse born in a particular year (all horses born in 2010 started with "F") but clearly that's not the case with Dutch dogs. Is it based on the kennel or the bitch?
In the USA, it is usually personal choice. A breeder can chose a letter per litter, so it would then be connected to the kennel(name)
Some breeders have themes instead. And others have no system at all, and anything goes. In some (FCI ) countries, it is a letter per year for the entire registry and all dogs (of all breeds) born to that registry in that year. For example: France has an F year, this year. :mrgreen:
ImageJudith Van Neerland Dutch Shepherds Image
icvanstra
Working Dog
Tell us about yourself: .
Location: Broad Ripple - the coolest part of Indianapolis - sometimes Amersfoort

Post by icvanstra »