Raising a Working Puppy- Takes a Village

Your home for general discussion. Don't know where to post? Try here first.
DSworkingdad
Just Whelped
Tell us about yourself: New to DSs, but not to high-drive dogs, here to learn like everyone else.

Raising a Working Puppy- Takes a Village

Post by DSworkingdad »

Hi Everyone,

It's been one week today since we picked up Callie, Our eight week old DS from the airport, and its been a journey just within the first week. I know I have posted quite a bit, but I am a social and active trainer! I have been watching Dave Kroyer's videos, at the recommendation of a DS forum member and I'm now a gold subscriber. His channel and video content is pretty great and offers some great training advice. I also work for a government contracting company that has a K9 unit, Broadie, ironically enough a DS and the handler is a Master GSA Trainer for police departments. She has been a tremendous help in assisting me with early imprinting and puppy development. However, I like to lean on the "village" (DS forum) for advice and tips because a trainer is nothing more than a constant student, like our dogs.

So here are some questions I would like opinions on:

1.) Food: