DS and growing family

Your home for general discussion. Don't know where to post? Try here first.
interferon
Just Whelped
Tell us about yourself: Been around dogs all my life, mixes to wolves. Looking for information about the DS breed from owners.

DS and growing family

Post by interferon »

Hello everyone,

I am new to DS. I have had dogs all my life and I need some help with DS information. To keep it simple, I thought I would list what I need in a dog and you could help me determine if it would be a good fit.

1. Needs to be a good guard dog (well established with DS, but listing it as criteria)
2. Needs to be good around children
3. Needs to have a desire to learn, train, please
4. Energetic, (I need a running/biking/conditioning buddy)
5. Loyal to the family
6. Lower health problems than most breeds (just got done paying massive surgery bills for my last dog)

To help with concerns, I was raised around Rottweilers trained for protection. They could be extremely aggressive with strangers if needed, but the gentlest beings with us kids. I have been around and trained other shepherds (Australian and German), APBT, and one of my most proud accomplishments with dogs was earning the trust of a pair rescued wolves (who were very untrusting of humans) while I was stationed in Ft. Sill, OK.

If you think the DS is a good fit for us, would you mind sharing breeder recommendations in the SE? I am currently looking at MossK9's, Aachen, and Alpha K9 Kennels.

Thanks!
Dan from North Florida
Mark77
Training Dog
Tell us about yourself: Own a Mal and a Dutchie.

Re: DS and growing family

Post by Mark77 »

If you want a hard dog look at Land of Oz K9.
ladyjubilee
Training Dog
Tell us about yourself: Sharing life with Bramble Dutch Shepherd mix (?) and Casper Whippet/Pit Bull (????) mix

Post by ladyjubilee »

Have you looked into the rescue? They might have a great dog.
Pack: Peanuts-terrier mix, 16-18 years old, Bramble-Dutch Shepherd, 3 yrs
Dutchringgirl
Global Moderator