Ball drive

Puppies! We all love our puppies.
Childsey1
Puppy
Tell us about yourself: My name is Paul childs
I have neo x American bulldog bitch, male Boerboel and now a 18week old ducth herder bitch.
I'm a carpenter by trade with a strong passion for dogs

Ball drive

Post by Childsey1 »

Hi,
amber is 8month old now and I need help and tips to stop her chasing any balls in the park, I'm in the uk so we don't have dog parks here, just parks for everyone and lots of woods and large fields. So you can imagine we have all sorts playing ball games from dog owners to kids, adults.
I'm training amber for working trials and ipo where a lot of trainers like to use high ball drive to achieve certain goals within this field, I myself use a tuggy which is a rope tied into a ball loped into a handle very similar to a ball on a rope, the reason I use this instead of a ball, I can get the same drive out of amber using something which she won't see in everyday life in the parks. The problem I've got is amber does so well out while training, but the moment someone turns up with a ball her consentration is lost I have to work so much harder to gain her back again. I know she just a puppy and with constant training this will pass, hopefully. Has any one experienced this and come up with any ideas to over come this?
Thanks
Paul
Paul, Buckinghamshire, uk
leih merigian
Working Dog
Tell us about yourself: Had a GSD, am getting a DS puppy in a few weeks. Compete in agility, obedience, and cross train in tons of stuff. Found out about this site from the DS Rescue yahoo list.

Re: Ball drive

Post by leih merigian »