K9 Nosework

Puppies! We all love our puppies.
leih merigian
Working Dog
Tell us about yourself: Had a GSD, am getting a DS puppy in a few weeks. Compete in agility, obedience, and cross train in tons of stuff. Found out about this site from the DS Rescue yahoo list.

K9 Nosework

Post by leih merigian »

Geyser and I just finished our first K9 Nosework class, and as expected, we both loved it!

Being that I am totally new to this relatively new sport, I had no idea what to expect from the first session, and was pleasantly surprised.

The first class, you start out with a bunch of boxes in a relatively small, well-defined space, cordoned off with fencing. Each dog works individually, with the others in crates until it's each's turn. There is a find (treats or a toy, your choice, whatever motivates your dog the most), and you take your dog inside the space and let it watch the instructor place the treat container within one of the boxes, then let your dog go. No commands are given, no verbal cues or help, you just watch to see what your dog does.

The dogs catch on pretty fast. For the next trial, you keep your dog's attention while the instructor places the find in a box without the dog noticing what's happening (right<g>). Then release the dog and watch it work. Every time it makes the find, you have a little party and deliver a jackpot into the container with the treats, so the dog is rewarded at the source (and learns to stay at the source, rather than returning to you for the reward).