Himalayan Dog Chew

Found a great canine related product? Give it a review - good, bad, or meh
Owly
Green Dog
Tell us about yourself: I'm a student, I work at a zoo, and I work at a veterinarian's office. I'm an active person who doesn't mind playing the occasional video game or vegging out on the sofa while holding a netflix marathon.

Himalayan Dog Chew

Post by Owly »

Not sure if this belongs in the feeding section or not, since technically it isn't a "food" item, but more of a bone/gnawable type thing. I've been struggling to find Nami something that she can keep her mind preoccupied with while she totes the cone of shame around. She isn't allowed to run, jump, or do any other rambunctious activity until the 19th. I've tried Kongs stuffed with kibbles, her rope toy that we play tug with (to a degree until she starts trying to shred it), Nylabones, busybone treats, and nooow this Himalayan Dog Chew. I friggin' love this thing. It's the first "chew" she's hasn't been able to demolish in the first 30 seconds or lose interest in. I suspect that her interest in the Nylabones is lacking because of how difficult it is for her to chew on them while wearing the cone, but these Himalayan dog chews are doing the trick! Cone be damned, even though it is similar in size to her nylabone she doesn't let the cone stop her. Even though they were a bit pricey compared to other chews (I paid 10$ for the one chew) it looks like it'll last long enough to outweigh the cheaper "busy bones***" that I've been trying.

I haven't tried anything rawhide-ish because I've heard about way too many rawhide horror stories at work.

***not the actual Purina product, Busy Bone. just my general term for chews designed to keep a dog entertained for hours. Although I have tried Purina Busy Bones and they last all of 5 minutes before I take it away because she's shredding them into chunks , so I treat these as more of a treat type deal.
Owly, Ohio.
karenz
Training Dog